News and Events


The winners of Australia’s peak industry design awards – the highest honour for design innovation – were announced on 8 June at the Australian Good Design Awards Ceremony during the annual Good Design Festival.

The Awards Ceremony also saw the announcement of the 2017 Young Australian Design Awards for designers under 30, recognising young Australian designers, engineers, innovators and entrepreneurs.

The Awards recognise the best project in the areas of Innovation, Technology, Sustainability and the overall 2017 Young Australian Design Award of the Year – going to the best project as selected by the Jury.

The Young Australian Design Award for Innovation went to HUG – Self Regulation System for Children with Autism, designed by Era Camilet from the University of New South Wales.

The Young Australian Design Award for Technology went to Stride – Running Coach, designed by Jessi Wilkinson also from University of New South Wales.

The Young Australian Design Award for Sustainability went to Dynamics in Impermanence designed by Nicole Larkin from the University of Sydney.

The coveted Young Australian Design Award of the Year for 2017 was awarded to e-motion designed by Lilian Hambling from the University of New South Wales

e-motion is a range of e-textile menswear garments that investigate the use of wearable technology to create a new form of non-verbal communication. It does this by measuring physiological data from the body such as pulse, muscle tension and proximity and expresses it as dynamic light displays.

Good Design Australia Chief Executive, Dr Brandon Gien, said that the Young Australian Design Awards showcase the problem solving capacity of design. “The calibre of entries in this year’s Young Australian Design Awards was very high and it was encouraging to see that all the Finalists focussed on using design thinking to help solve a problem in a very elegant and innovative way,” Dr. Gien said.

An open exhibition of the finalist entries will be showcased at the Overseas Passenger Terminal from 9-11 June, giving the general public an opportunity to get their hands on the products and concepts in contention to receive Australia’s highest honour for design.

View 2017 Winners here.